President’s Corner

TelCoa thanks U.S. Representatives Jim Himes, Rosa DeLauro, and Elizabeth Esty for introducing the Multi-State Worker Tax Fairness Act, H.R. 4085, 113th Congress.

We strongly support this crucial legislation. The bill would finally eliminate the telecommuter tax, a steep penalty often resulting in double taxation of income that interstate telecommuters earn at home. The telecommuter tax unfairly burdens telecommuters and their employers and limits telework adoption. Congress must make the Multi-State Worker Tax Fairness Act law!

TelCoa and other advocates are working to secure the bill’s enactment, but we need your help!

>>> Read More...

Guest Columnist

Make the tax system safe for interstate telecommuting: pass H.R. 4085

This is reprinted from the OUPblog. Information on subscribing to this is available at the end of this article.

By Edward Zelinsky

Telecommuting benefits employers, employees, and society at large. Telecommuting expands work opportunities for the disabled, for those who live far from major metropolitan areas, and for the parents of young children who value the ability to work at home. Telecommuting also removes cars from our crowded highways and enables employers to hire from a wider and more diverse pool of potential employees.

It is thus anomalous that New York State’s personal income tax discourages interstate telecommuting by taxing the compensation non-resident telecommuters earn on the days such telecommuters work at their out-of-state homes. Under the misleading label “convenience of the employer,” New York subjects telecommuters to double income taxation by their state of residence as well as by New York – even though New York provides non-resident telecommuters with no public services on the days such interstate telecommuters work at their out-of-state homes outside of New York’s borders.

>>> Read the entire blog at...

Hot Topics & Links

"Working from home not for everyone, but it can still be a 'win-win' for many workers and employers" is an article in the Cleveland Plain Dealer featuring TelCoa President Chuck Wilsker and Advisory Board member Diane Stegmeier.

For the complete article,
> click-here...

-------------------------

Advisory Board

Gary Arlen, Senior Broadband Advisor, The Telework Coalition; President, Arlen Communications. (garyarlen@aol.com)

 

Nicole Belson Goluboff, Esq. Legislative Advisor; author of The Law of Telecommuting (ALI-ABA 2001) and its Supplement (2004), which concern the legal consequences of telecommuting for both employers and employees, and Telecommuting for Lawyers (American Bar Association, 1998). (goluboffn@gmail.com)

 

Susan Harrington, MS, PE, Health, Safety, and Ergonometric Advisor; Co- founder and President of Harrington Software Associates, Inc., (susan@hsainc.net)

 

John Vivadelli, Hoteling Advisor, founder and CEO of AgilQuest; (john.vivadelli@agilquest.com)

 

Michael Amigoni, Chief Operating Officer, ARO Inc., Division of Dibon, (mamigoni@callcenteroptions.com)

 

Lon Anderson, Director, Public & Government Relations, AAA Mid-Atlantic. (landerson@aaamidatlantic.com)

 

Monica L. Babine, Senior Associate, Program for Digital Initiatives, Division of Governmental Studies & Services, Washington State University Extension & College of Liberal Arts. Serves as the telework expert on of the Washington State Interagency Commute Trip Reduction Board. (babinem@wsu.edu)

 

Joshua Ball, Distance Earning Business Specialist, Eastern Kentucky Distance Earning Initiative, (jball0079@kctcs.edu)

 

Eddie Caine, Professional Services, Valley Metro, Regional Public Transportation Authority;  past President of ITAC;  co-founder of the Arizona Telecommuting Advisory Council.(ECaine@valleymetro.org)

 

Jose Calero, President and Founder, LapWorks Inc., (customersupport@laptopdesk.net)

 

Frank W. Connolly, Esq., Senior Council, Hilton Worldwide ; Subject Matter Expert on legal and HR issues affecting telework.(frank.connolly@hilton.com)

 

Gerry Connolly (D-VA), United States Congressman, previous Chairman of the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors,  recipient of The Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments’ Scull Award, the region’s highest award for leadership, for his work on promoting telework/telecommuting throughout the Metropolitan Washington Region.

 

Debra A. Dinnocenzo , President, VirtualWorks!, Author of “101 Tips for Telecommuters”, (ddinnocenzo@virtualworkswell.com)

 

Michael Dziak, Chief Operating Officer, e-Work.com, Inc. (michael.dziak@e-work.com)

 

John M. H. Edwards, co-founder , The Telework Coalition, President & CEO Telework Network and Telework Analytics, Inc.;  Chairman, Telecommuting Task Force, Northern Virginia Technology Council; Past President, International Telework Association & Council (ITAC), Past President, Mid Atlantic Telework Advisory Council. (JEdwards@teleworknetwork.com)

 

Fred Ewald, Consultant/Project Manager, ARCCA Inc., (fewald@arcca.com)

 

John P. Fineran,President & CEO, FinTel Communications, a technology brokerage firm, (jpf@fintelcom.com)

 

Lawrence (Larry) R. Freedman, Attorney and Partner, Law firm of Edwards, Angell, Palmer & Dodge LLP, Chair of the telecommunications group. General Counsel to FOCUS, Fiber Optic Communities of the United States (lfreedman@eapdlaw.com)

 

Bob Fortier, President of InnoVisions Canada, President and Founder of the Canadian Telework Association, (bobf@ivc.ca)

 

Tony Gill, Enterprise Specialist, Business Continuity Management, BMO Financial Group, (Tony.Gill@bmo.com)

 

Jay John Hellman, Ph.D., Founder and President, The Hellman Company, inc., Creator of “Virtual Adjacency“. (jay.hellman@alum.mit.edu)

 

Frank Leonetti, MBCI, CBCP, Practice Manager, Business Continuity/Disaster Recovery, Oracle, Professional Services. (fleonetti1@comcast.net)

 

Julia Loughran,President, ThoughtLink, Inc.,  (loughran@thoughtlink.com)

 

Gail Martin, Former Executive Director, ITAC; Vice President, Giuffrida Associates. (tac4dc@aol.com)

 

Phil Montero,“The Mobile Man”; YouCanWorkFromAnywhere.com. Speaker, Coach, Consultant and Author. (phil@ycwfa.com)

 

Jason Morwick, Co-Author: “Making Telework Work” Davies-Black, 2009, who along with Dr. Evan H. Offstein, Ph.D., SPHR (both graduates of the United States Military Academy at West Point), are champions of the role leadership plays in making distributed work a reality.   (morwickj@aol.com)

 

Mary Naylor, CEO and Co-Founder of VIPdesk. (MNaylor@VIPdesk.com)

 

Alex Salamon, Senior Vice President of Global Sales at Rev2. (alex.salamon@rev2.net)

 

N. J. Slabbert, a research scholar on technology and infrastructure development. (N.J.Slabbert@gmail.com.)

 

Diane Stegmeier, is founder of Stegmeier Consulting Group, a consultancy centered on change management and organizational effectiveness. She is the author of Innovations in Office Design. (diane@stegmeierconsulting.com)

 

Doug Strahan, President and Chief Executive Officer, Aptela, Inc., (info@Aptela.com)

 

 

Dan Wallis, Director of Technology for KP OnCall, a wholly owned subsidiary of Kaiser Permanente that provides nurse triage and advice to over 4 million members. (dan.wallis@kponcall.com)

 

Jeff Zbar, Telework Journalist, writer of “Home Base,” the teleworking advice column, Network World’s Net.Worker; Author, U.S. Small Business Administration’s 2001 Small Business Journalist of the Year.(jeff@chiefhomeofficer.com)

 

And in our hearts and memories, the late:

Bob de Lorenzi,Technical Advisor, The Telework Coalition; President and CEO, Patriot Computing Group.

Alex Salamon, Senior Vice President, Global Sales at Rev2
Follow Us
The Telework Coalition on Facebook The Telework Coalition on LinkedIn The Telework Coalition on twitter
Sign Up for Our Email Newsletter
Email:  
Upcoming Events

Check back with us for upcoming events of interest.

Archives